Derecho a las telecomunicaciones


jueves, 2 de junio de 2011

Colombia assigns USD 27 millions to DTT widening

The Board of the Colombian National TV Commission approved a USD 27 million budget to widen DTT network in that country. The plan includes both the construction of 13 broadcasting stations and enhancement of Radio Televisión de Colombia's (RTVC) broadcasting center capacity.
The project also includes 28 transmitters, electric systems for 10 stations, civil works, and fieldwork measurement for the verification of coverage and channel quality, among other objectives. In 2011, the entity will have made a total investment of USD 61 millions, according to Eduardo Osorio Lozano, director of the aforementioned agency. Such resources will be assigned "to guarantee the TV channel universal access, to develop educating and cultural TV, to encourage national industry competitiveness and to guarantee content quality".
In 2008, Colombia chose DVB-T standard. At present, it is the only South American country with that system, after Uruguay modified its decision and turned to ISDB-T by 2010 end. Private channels Caracol and RCN are already broadcasting in DTT in the capital city of Bogotá and Medellín.

No hay comentarios:

Publicar un comentario